Design Automation Conference Features ACM Turing Award Winners

The 2007 ACM Turing Award Winners, Dr. Edmund M. Clarke of Carnegie Mellon University; Dr. E. Allen Emerson of the University of Texas, Austin and Dr. Joseph Sifakis of Verimag Labs, France will be guest speakers at the 45th Design Automation Conference (DAC). These accomplished researchers have been recognized with the highest honor in the area of computing for their role in developing Model-Checking into a highly effective verification technology, widely adopted in the hardware and software industries. They will speak on Monday, June 9 from 2 to 4 p.m., the first day of the conference. The session is sponsored by ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SIGDA) and Intel Corp., and will feature introductions by Stuart Feldman, ACM President and Vice-President for Engineering at Google, Kathryn Kranen, President and CEO at Jasper Design Automation, and Andrew Chien, Vice-President for Corporate Technology and Director of Research at Intel Corp. The 45th DAC will take place June 8 – 13, 2008 at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, Calif.

“The ACM Turing Award is considered the Nobel Prize of the computing field,” said Limor Fix, general chair, 45th DAC Executive Committee. “We are thrilled to have these three distinguished individuals as speakers at DAC this year. It’s sure to be a memorable highlight of the conference.”

2007 ACM Turing Award Winners
Dr. Edmund M. Clarke is the FORE Systems Professor of Computer Science and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. He has served on the editorial boards of numerous journals and is the former editor-in-chief of Formal Methods in Systems Design. He is a co-founder with Robert Kurshan, Amir Pnueli, and Joseph Sifakis of the International Conference on Computer Aided Verification (CAV) and serves on the steering committee. He received a Technical Excellence Award from the Semiconductor Research Corporation in 1995, and the IEEE Harry M. Goode Memorial Award in 2004. He is a Fellow of ACM and the IEEE Computer Society, and was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2005. Dr. Clarke was awarded a B.A. degree in mathematics from the University of Virginia and a M.A. degree in mathematics from Duke University. He earned a Ph.D. degree in computer science from Cornell University, and has taught at Duke University and Harvard University.

Dr. E. Allen Emerson is an Endowed Professor in Computer Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin. He was a co-recipient of the 2006 Test-of-Time Award from the IEEE Symposium on Logic in Computer Science (LICS) for his research on efficient Model Checking in the propositional mu-calculus, a highly expressive temporal logic, with Chin-Laung Lei. He has served on the editorial boards of several leading journals in applied logic and formal methods, including ACM Transactions on Computational Logic, Formal Aspects of Computing, and Formal Methods in Systems Design. He serves on the steering committee of the International Symposium on Automated Technology for Verification and Analysis (ATVA) as well as the International Conference on Verification, Model Checking, and Abstract Interpretation (VMCAI). Dr. Emerson received a B.S. degree in mathematics from University of Texas at Austin, and a Ph.D. in applied mathematics from Harvard University.

Dr. Joseph Sifakis is the founder of Verimag Laboratory, a leading research center for embedded systems in Grenoble, France, where he was director from 1993-2006. He is Research Director of Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, and Director of the CARNOT Institute on Intelligent Software and Systems in Grenoble. Dr. Sifakis is a member of the editorial board of several journals, and the scientific coordinator of the Artist2 and ArtistDesign European Networks of Excellence on Embedded Systems Design. He is co-founder with Edmund Clarke, Robert Kurshan, and Amir Pnueli of the International Conference on Computer Aided Verification (CAV). He earned a degree in electrical engineering from the Technical University of Athens and a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Grenoble.

ACM will present the Turing Award at the annual ACM Awards Banquet on June 21, 2008, in San Francisco.

About the ACM Turing Award
The ACM Turing Award was named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing, and who was a key contributor to the Allied cryptanalysis of the German Enigma cipher during World War II. Since its inception in 1966, the Turing Award has honored the computer scientists and engineers who created the systems and underlying theoretical foundations that have propelled the information technology industry.

About ACM
ACM is widely recognized as the premier organization for computing professionals, delivering resources that advance the computing and IT disciplines, enable professional development, and promote policies and research that benefit society. ACM hosts the computing industry’s leading Digital Library and Portal to Computing Literature, and serves its global membership with journals and magazines, special interest groups, conferences, workshops, electronic forums, Career Resource Centre and Professional Development Centre.

About DAC
The Design Automation Conference (DAC) is recognized as the premier event for the design of electronic circuits and systems, and for Electronic Design Automation (EDA) and silicon solutions. A diverse worldwide community representing more than 1,500 organizations attends each year, from system designers and architects, logic and circuit designers, validation engineers, CAD managers, senior managers and executives to researchers and academicians from leading universities. Close to 60 technical sessions selected by a committee of electronic design experts offer information on recent developments and trends, management practices and new products, methodologies and technologies. A highlight is its Exhibition and Suite area with approximately 250 of the leading and emerging EDA, silicon and IP providers. The conference is sponsored by the Association for Computing Machinery’s Special Interest Group on Design Automation (ACM/SIGDA), the Circuits and Systems Society and Council on Electronic Design Automation of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE/CASS/CEDA) and the Electronic Design Automation Consortium (EDA Consortium).