OSGi Alliance Announces Free Supporter Participation Class

The OSGi(TM) Alliance announced a new, free participation level that opens the alliance to a greater number of influencers. The new supporter level is the alliance’s third membership class, joining full members and adopter associates. Each level offers a different set of benefits and value to members with different needs.

OSGi Alliance members develop and facilitate the deployment of OSGi specifications, which serve as the platform for universal middleware in server and embedded environments. Deployment of the open standard greatly increases the value of a wide range of computers and devices that use the Java(TM) platform.

OSGi technology is a component integration platform with a service-oriented architecture and lifecycle capabilities that enable dynamic delivery of services. OSGi technology is shipping in millions of units worldwide, and is deployed by Fortune 100 companies in home, automotive, mobile and enterprise markets.

The supporter class can participate in the requirements process, provide input into OSGi specification evolution and help define future capabilities and requirements for the OSGi specification. Supporters will receive discounts for OSGi workshops and community events and can display an OSGi Alliance logo on their Web site.

“This new class invites some of OSGi technology’s most enthusiastic supporters and users from all parts of the service delivery ecosystem to participate in the alliance,” said Stan Moyer, recently re-elected president of the alliance from Telcordia Technologies. “It also enables companies interested in OSGi technology and alliance membership to explore the alliance and discover firsthand its value to their respective companies.”

The alliance also announced its 2008 board of directors and officers who will lead the strategic decisions of the alliance for members in all three classes.

The 2008 board of directors is comprised of Edward Cobb of BEA Systems, Dan Bandera of IBM, Eric Newcomer of IONA Technologies, Dr. John Barr of Motorola, Dr. Ryutaro Kawamura of NTT, Kimmo Löytänä of Nokia, Anish Karmarkar of Oracle, Dr. Susan Schwarze of ProSyst Software, Seok-Ha Koh of Samsung Electronics, Frank Mittag of SAP and Moyer of Telcordia Technologies.

The 2008 OSGi Alliance officers are: Moyer of Telcordia Technologies, president; Christer Larsson of Makewave, vice president, Europe, Middle East and Africa; Kawamura of NTT, vice president, Asia Pacific; Bandera of IBM, vice president, America; Schwarze of ProSyst Software, vice president, marketing; BJ Hargrave of IBM, vice president of technology/chief technology officer; Peter Kriens, director of technology; Barr of Motorola, treasurer; and Karmarkar of Oracle, secretary.

“We are pleased that our members have elected a strong team to steer the OSGi Alliance,” Moyer said. “I am confident that the OSGi Alliance will leverage its momentum, having the right technical platform and the right members aboard.”

The OSGi Alliance is a worldwide consortium of technology innovators that advances a proven and mature process to assure interoperability of applications and services based on its component integration platform. The alliance provides specifications, reference implementations, test suites and certification to foster a valuable cross-industry ecosystem. OSGi technology is delivered in many Fortune Global 100 company products and services. Member companies collaborate within an egalitarian, equitable and transparent environment and promote adoption of OSGi technology through business benefits, user experiences and forums.

OSGi is a trademark of the OSGi Alliance in the United States, other countries, or both. Java and all Java based trademarks are trademarks of Sun Microsystems, Inc., in the United States, other countries, or both.