MontaVista Offers Open Source Webinars

MontaVista(R) Software, Inc., the global leader in embedded Linux(R), announced a free educational webinar series for embedded systems software developers. The first topic in the series will highlight how Linux and Eclipse have revolutionized the industry, leading to dramatic gains in developer efficiency.

MontaVista encourages audience members to register now for the first webinar at The first webinar is offered at two separate dates and times to make it convenient for attendees across North America, the United Kingdom, Europe, and Australia. Available times and dates include:

  • Wednesday, April 25 – 10am US Pacific, 12pm US Central, 1pm US Eastern
  • Tuesday, May 1 – 10am US Eastern, 3pm UK, 4pm Central Europe/Scandinavia

James Ready, CTO and co-founder at MontaVista, will conduct each webinar. With more than 25 years of experience in the embedded systems and real-time software industry, Mr. Ready pioneered the development of the first commercially viable, real-time operating system. Mr. Ready founded MontaVista in 1999 to provide the Linux operating system for the embedded systems market as well as to offer embedded system expertise to the Open Source Linux Community.

The development of embedded software has shifted rapidly from proprietary closed-source based tools and operating systems to technologies based on open source, most notably Linux and Eclipse. The seminar will examine the reasons behind this revolutionary change, and how moving to the Linux operating system and Eclipse based development environments has improved developer efficiency. Mr. Ready will describe the current capabilities of Linux as an embedded operating system, with a particular emphasis on the real-time capabilities of Linux. He will also focus on Eclipse based development tools for Linux including a discussion on the latest in Linux run-time analysis tools, such as memory leak detection and performance profiling.

MontaVista’s open source webinar series will also include additional webinars in May and June encompassing subjects such as security and virtualization. Designed to give developers a deeper understanding of embedded systems technology, the series will provide best practices for developers to apply the technology effectively in their professional environments.

Descriptions of each webinar along with dates and times will be posted online. Audiences can enroll for the webinars at any time prior to the broadcast date.

About MontaVista Software, Inc.
MontaVista Software, Inc., is the leading provider of Linux for intelligent devices and telecommunications infrastructure. MontaVista delivers a commercial-quality Linux operating system, easy-to-use development tools, expert support, design and migration services and a complete ecosystem of more than 400 partners. Headquartered in Santa Clara, California, MontaVista has operations in 15 countries.

Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds. MontaVista is a registered trademark of MontaVista Software Inc.